To our feline guests

To Our Feline Guests

I love my cats, but I do feel it necessary to have a few simple household rules. I have gone over this list with them patiently several times and answered their questions until we’re all “on the same page” (literally). A straightforward plan like this is really just common sense for cat owners. If you do try this with your cats I’m sure you’ll discover, as I did, that it’s a complete waste of time.

My oldest cat, Belle, is still pretty feisty at the age of 17+.  She is very bright, gets bored easily, and will not take “no” for an answer.  If I am not responding to her requests she starts knocking things off counters and flipping over wastebaskets.  It’s a fairly successful method of inter-species communication.

In my old apartment I had an in-wall air conditioner.  I don’t mind being warm (up to a point) and I don’t like the noise of air conditioners.  Belle, as it turns out, has a lower tolerance for hot weather than I do.  When she felt it was time to crank the AC she would sit in front of it and meow until I turned it on.  Then she’d sprawl out and take a nap in the cool breeze.

